#IntDesignerChat April 17 Topic: Why Modernism Holds Sway ~ From Mad Men to Mies

15 Apr

Seagram Building / Mies van der Rohe

Watching Mad Men draws in audiences with it’s sumptuous set design that allows a nostalgic journey back in time: when design was innovative & clean, architecture was confident (cocky even), and modernism still held its promise.   Blair Kamin has noted for the Chicago Tribune, Mad Men reflects a ”time when modernism was still fresh and the backlash against corporate sterility had yet to hit.”

The illusion of Modernist promise of  Mies‘ structure  is still sexy, the longing still holds sway.  The retro-chic design of the show’s homes and office are in demand again today.  From Florence Knoll’s Lounge series of geometric chairs and sofas that are classics.  To Herman Miller furniture  of early Modern iconic, to art  that is essential in delivering the right look.  To lighting which on “Mad Men,”  is tall, slender wood, colorful opaque glass, gleaming metal — statement lamps.

Join Interior Designer Chat on Twitter April 17 as we discuss Why Modernism holds sway in design. From Mad Men to Mies. From ART,  PALETTE,  HOME FROM THE OFFICE, LIGHTING, LIVING ROOM FURNITURE, to KITCHEN DESIGN we’ll be chatting globally using the hashtag #IntDesignerChat at 6p ET, 5p CT, 3p PT, and 11p GMT.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s